Skip to content ↓


The Governing Body of Maids Moreton Church of England School consists of volunteers drawn from five discreet groups who bring to the school a range of skills and expertise to assist in its governance. The Governing Body is made up of:

Local Authority (LA) Governors- appointed by the LA that maintains the school.

Parent Governors- parents from the school elected by the parents.

Staff Governors- elected from the schools teaching/ support staff.

Community Governors-appointed by the Governing Body to represent community interests including persons who live or work in the community that the school serves.

Foundation Governors- appointed by the Oxford Diocese. They have a particular responsibility for RE and Collective worship.

The main responsibilities of the Governing Body are:

  • to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction for the work of the school.
  • to support the work of the school as a 'critical friend'
  • to hold the school to account for the educational standards it achieves and the quality of education it provides.
  • to ensure a broad and balanced curriculum is delivered
  • to set staffing levels, assisting in the appointment teachers and staff
  • to oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.
  • to monitor health and safety.
  • to ensure all safeguarding procedures are in place

As well as attending meetings and other important events in school life, governors visit the school on an informal basis. Minutes of the Governors’ meetings are available in the school reception area. Parents who wish to contact a member of the Governing Body, may do so by contacting Mr Alistair Brizell. Further information about our Governors, as well as Register of Governor Interests, can be found by clicking on the links below.



Type of Governor

Miss Keira Ainsworth Head Teacher
Mr Immanuel Ashokaraj Foundation [church] Governor
Mrs Caroline Reece Staff Governor

Mr Alistair Brizell [Chair]

Foundation [church] Governor
Mrs Amanda Scott [Vice Chair] Foundation [church] Governor

Mrs Julia Whitbread 

Local Authority Governor

Rev Hans Taling

Foundation [church] Governor

Mrs Fiona Suthers Foundation [church] Governor

Mrs Claire Simpson

Parent Governor

Vacancy Parent Governor
Vacancy Foundation [church] Governor


Foundation [church] Governor